Go Back

Lethbridge teacher nominated for provincial award

February 27, 2019

A Lethbridge teacher is set to represent Lethbridge School District 51 at the annual Zone 6 Edwin Parr Award banquet.

The award honours outstanding first-year teachers in Alberta, grade 6 teacher at Wilson Middle School Melanie Wasylenko is this year's nominee.

“We feel privileged to have had the beginning of her career take place at Wilson Middle School, where an integral part of the atmosphere centres on character, teamwork and innovation,” said Wilson principal Dean Hawkins.

Wasylenko is a member of the Grade 6 team, teaching homeroom, humanities and drama.

“I am honoured to begin my teaching career at Wilson Middle School, where character, teamwork and innovation are an integral part of the community,” she said. “It is wonderful to be able to teach a wide range of subjects to students in grades 6 to 8.”

Wasylenko’s students appreciate her too.

“Mrs. Wasylenko definitely deserves this award,” said Grade 6 Wilson student Abigail Guigue.

“She is an amazing teacher who teaches with kindness and compassion. She teaches in a way so that everyone can learn and she is always encouraging us to be the best we can be.”

The Edwin Parr awards ceremony will be held in Taber on Wednesday, May 15, 2019.

Edwin Parr award nominee Melanie Wasylenko and Wilson Middle School principal Dean Hawkins.